Committed Gardens

SAMA stocks up rather directly with  organic and natural producers. These are selected on criteria of quality and purity, in particular for essential oil, but also on social and environmental criteria. The complementary(additional) supplies are confided(entrusted) to agents who share the same values and the same ethics.

SAMA works in association with committed and innovating distillers who are eager to protect the craft and traditional methods of manufacturing. SAMA has a chance being able to work with professionals of her region for the supply of raw materials (plant Oil, essential Oil, label …)

For rare and exotic ingredient here are two examples of the commitment of SAMA with the producers. Sandalwood of Australia The sandalwood is one of the most precious aromatic wood to the world, very widely used as incense ceremonial in all Asia. He(it) is so precious as it was over-exploited during centuries, and as the natural resource is endangered in India as in most of the Islands of the Pacific. In Australia, the forests of sandalwood are managed in a long-lasting way in partnership with the native populations. SAMA is the first perfumer to the world to have implemented only essential oil of sandalwood produced unless no tree is brought(shot) down. This essential oil really arises from the distillation of wood fallen from themselves on the ground. The essential oil of sandalwood of Australia is a major constituent(component) of the flavors(perfumes) of SAMA.

Rose and Orange blossom of Afghanistan A Jalalabad, Afghanistan, a festival of patchoune poetry is held every year in the season of blooming of orange trees. One of the founders of SAMA, starts in spring, 2005 a distillery of essential oil. In the surrounding valleys, where during war years pushed poppies to opium, we can now comptempler the pink(roses) in flower and inhale their flavor(perfume).
Essential oil of pink(rose) and orange blossoms is extracted by distillation in the vapor of the fresh(cool) flowers collected(harvested) in the hand, an activity which employs many workforce.

To obtain 1 kg of essential oil, is needed 850 kg of orange blossoms but four tons of pink(roses) in flower.
Except their use in high natural perfume shop, delicate essential oil of pink(rose) and orange blossoms is precious for the beauty of the face. They are considered in particular as their anti-ageing properties. As such, they were selected by SAMA who uses(employs) them on his(her) cosmetics of care, as in his(her,its) flavors(perfumes). So also, the essential oil of orange blossom (aka néroli) is associated with an extract of root of iris to make up(to compose) the floral note(mark) of heart of the Eau de parfum of SAMA ” Garden of Iris “.

Des Jardins Engagés

SAMA s’approvisionne de préférence directement auprès des producteurs dans le secteur du bio et du naturel. Ceux-ci sont sélectionnés sur des critères de qualité et de pureté, notamment pour les huiles essentielles, mais également sur des critères sociaux et environnementaux. Les approvisionnements complémentaires sont confiés à des agents qui partagent les mêmes valeurs et la même éthique.

SAMA travaille en collaboration avec des distillateurs engagés et innovant qui ont à cœur de préserver les méthodes artisanales et traditionnelles de fabrication. SAMA a la chance de pouvoir travailler avec des professionnels de sa région pour l’approvisionnement des matières premières ( Huiles végétales, Huiles essentielles, étiquettes …)

Pour les matières plus rares et exotiques voici deux exemples de l’engagement de SAMA auprès des producteurs. Bois de Santal d’Australie Le bois de santal est un des bois aromatiques les plus précieux au monde, très largement utilisé comme encens cérémonial dans toute l’Asie. Il est si précieux qu’il a été surexploité pendant des siècles, et que la ressource naturelle est en voie d’extinction en Inde comme dans la plupart des Iles du Pacifique. En Australie, les forêts de santal sont gérées de manière durable en partenariat avec les populations indigènes. SAMA est le premier parfumeur au monde à n’avoir mis en oeuvre que des huiles essentielles de santal produites sans qu’aucun arbre ne soit abattu. Ces huiles essentielles sont véritablement issues de la distillation des bois tombés d’eux-mêmes au sol. L’huile essentielle de bois de santal d’Australie est un composant majeur des parfums de SAMA.

Rose et Fleur d’Oranger d’Afghanistan A Jalalabad, Afghanistan, un festival de poésie patchoune se tient chaque
année à la saison de floraison des orangers. Un des fondateurs de SAMA, démarre au
printemps 2005 une distillerie d’huiles essentielles. Dans les vallées environnantes, là où durant les années de guerre poussaient les pavots à opium, on peut maintenant comptempler les roses en fleur et respirer leur parfum.
Les huiles essentielles de rose et de fleurs d’oranger sont extraites par distillation à la vapeur des fleurs fraiches récoltées à la main, une activité qui emploie beaucoup de main d’oeuvre.

Pour obtenir un 1 kg d’huile essentielle, il faut 850 kg de fleurs d’oranger mais quatre tonnes de roses en fleur.
En dehors de leur utilisation en haute parfumerie naturelle, les huiles essentielles délicates de rose et de fleurs d’oranger sont précieuses pour la beauté du visage. Elles sont notamment réputées pour leurs propriétés anti-âge. A ce titre, elles ont été sélectionnées par SAMA qui les emploie dans ses cosmétiques de soin, comme dans ses parfums. Ainsi aussi, l’huile essentielle de fleur d’oranger (aka néroli) est associée à un extrait de racine d’iris pour
composer la note florale de coeur de l’Eau de Parfum de SAMA « Jardin d’Iris ».